Trivia answers and more baseball trivia

Here are the answers to my earlier trivia question:

There have been 14 pitchers who have pitched in a Mets uniform who have won the Cy Young. Two did it with the Mets, 10 before they joined the Mets and two after they left. Can you name them all?

Hint: One is on the current Mets roster.

Part 1: Tom Seaver won it three times ('69, '73, '75) with the Mets and Dwight Gooden once ('85).

Tom Seaver, in a photo
from New York Mets Report

The players to win it before joining the team were:

  1. Warren Spahn won the award (only one ML award was given out) in 1957 with the Braves, played with the Mets in 1965.
  2. Dean Chance won it in 1964 (only one handed out) with the Angels and played with the Mets in 1970.
  3. Mike Marshall won it in 1975 with the Dodgers as a reliever and played with the Mets in 1981.
  4. Randy Jones won it in 1976 with the Padres, played with the Mets 1981-1982.
  5. Bret Saberhagen won in 1985 and 1989 with the Royals and played with the Mets from 1992-1995.
  6. Orel Hershiser in 1988 with the Dodgers and played with the Mets in 1999.
  7. Frank Viola in 1988 and played with the Mets from 1989-1991.
  8. Tom Glavine won in 1991 and 1998 and pitched with the Mets from 2003-2007.
  9. Pedro Martinez won in 1997, 1999 and 2000 and pitched with the Mets from 2005-2008.
  10. Johan Santana won in 2004 and 2006 and has pitched with the Mets since 2008.

The Players who won it after leaving:

  1. Mike Scott pitched with the Mets from 1979-1982 and won the award with the Astros in 1986.
  2. David Cone pitched with the Mets from 1987-1992 and again in 2003. He won the award with Royals. (Technically, Cone won the award both after leaving and before joining.)

Cone's career, by the way, was marked by goings and comings. He started with the Royals, was traded to the Mets and then to the Blue Jays. He signed as a free agent back with the Royals after, was traded to the Blue Jays and eventually returned to the Mets.

Another note: Seaver finished second to Fernando Valenzuela in 1981 in one of the narrowest Cy Young votes in history. He went 14-2 in the strike-shortened season, Valenzuela led in strikeouts and won 13, along with the Rookie of the Year. They both ended up with eight first-place votes. Steve Carlton, who also won 13 and had the lowest of ERA of the three, had five first-place votes to finish third.

The answers and stats are from Baseball-Reference.

Send me an e-mail.

Read poetry at The Subterranean.

Suburban Pastoral, a chapbook by Hank Kalet, available here.

Go to State Page
origin Blog: 
origin Author: 
Comments Count: 
Showing 0 comments