2012 Presidential Citizens Medals Awarded

President Obama recognizes the 13 recipients of the 2012 Presidential Citizens Medal. A tradition dating back more 40 years and established by President Nixon, the award is one of the highest honors a civilian can receive.

Nearly 6,000 public nominations were submitted, and the President has selected the following awardees:

Dr. T. Berry Brazelton (Boston, Massachusetts)

Adam Burke (Jacksonville, Florida)

Mary Jo Copeland (Minneapolis, Minnesota)

Michael Dorman (Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina)

Maria Gomez (Washington, DC)

Pamela Green Jackson (Albany, Georgia)

Janice Jackson (Baltimore, Maryland)

Patience Lehrman (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)

Jeanne Manford (Queens, NY)

Billy Mills (Fair Oaks, California)

Terry Shima (Gaithersburg, Maryland)

Harris Wofford (Washington D.C.)

Rachel Davino, Dawn Hochsprung, Anne Marie Murphy, Lauren Rousseau, Mary Sherlach, and Victoria Soto (Newtown, Connecticut)
On December 14, 2012, the names of six courageous women were forever etched into the heart of our Nation as unthinkable tragedy swept through Newtown, Connecticut. Some of these individuals had joined Sandy Hook Elementary School only weeks before; others were preparing to retire after decades of service. All had dedicated themselves to their students and their community, working long past the school bell to give the children in their care a future worthy of their talents.

More in
News & Politics
origin Blog: 
origin Author: 
Comments Count: 
Showing 0 comments